Elementary Report Cards

The elementary report card:

  • aligns to the district’s curriculum and classroom expectations
  • reflects what students have learned up until this point in the school year, not where they should be at the end of the year
  • provides objective, consistent, and clear feedback
  • communicates useful information to families, students, and teachers about student progress to direct and encourage future learning
  • connects learning, teaching, and assessment
  • includes growth scores in major content areas (reading, writing, math) to give more information about a student's progress, allowing teachers and families to identify areas of strength and areas for growth 

Content areas do not have letter grades

A standards-based grading system is used for scoring in content areas, which means students are scored on their ability to meet grade-level standards. Marks are made on a scale of one through four:

  • 4 = exceeds grade level standard
  • 3 = meets grade level standard
  • 2 = approaching grade level standard
  • 1 = not at grade level standard

N/A = Not yet assessed or the teacher does not have enough assessment data to generate an overall proficiency score

Content area grades measure whether or not a student has mastered a concept or skill. They do not grade whether that student put forth effort, turned in their work on time, or followed the rules. These interdisciplinary skills are graded in a separate section.

Social and learning skills are scored separately from content knowledge

A key feature of the report card is that students are graded separately on social and learning skills, such as effort and cooperation, from what they learn in academic subjects, such as math and writing. In the past, a student who behaved well might be marked higher than their subject mastery indicated or vice versa. Now it is clear if a student is learning interdisciplinary skills and if they are learning specific content knowledge. Social and learning skills are scored using the following marks:

  • O = Often
  • S = Sometimes
  • = Not at this time