College Admission Standards

New minimum college admission standards for college-bound students in Washington take effect fall 2012. The standards apply to students who aspire to enter a baccalaureate institution directly from high school. They spell out the numbers and types of high school credits needed to qualify for college admission.

These required courses are known as the College Academic Distribution Requirements (CADR). Completing the CADR courses does not guarantee admission to one of the state’s six baccalaureate institutions. The CADR courses are one of a number of criteria institutions consider when making admissions decisions.

The new standards apply to:

  • University of Washington
  • UW Bothell
  • UW Tacoma
  • Washington State University
  • WSU Vancouver
  • WSU Tri Cities
  • The Evergreen State College
  • Western Washington University
  • Central Washington University
  • Eastern Washington University

Revised Admission Standards 2012